Employment of Minors

+ More Options

State and Federal Child Labor Laws are different. It is the responsibility of the employer to be aware of which laws apply and to be governed by the more restrictive. Information regarding Federal Child Labor may be obtained from the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division here or 402-221-4682.

If you believe an employer is operating in violation of the Nebraska Child Labor Law, please file a complaint.

File a Child Labor Complaint

Federal Hour Restrictions for 14 and 15 year olds:

  • No more than 3 hours on a school day
  • No more than 18 hours in a school week
  • No more than 8 hours on a non-school day
  • No more than 40 hours in non-school week
  • Not before 7 a.m. nor after 7 p.m. (9 p.m. from June 1 - Labor Day)

Nebraska Hour Restrictions for 14 and 15 year olds:

  • No more than 8 hours in one day
  • No more than 48 hours in one week
  • Not before 6 a.m. nor after 10 p.m.


The Nebraska Department of Labor is authorized to issue a special permit to allow the employment of 14 and 15 year old youth before 6 a.m. or after 10 p.m. provided there is no school scheduled the following day and after an inspection of the working conditions at the business premises. The special permit may be issued for periods not to exceed 90 days and may be renewed. The fee for each special permit or renewal shall be $10.

Special permits cannot be issued if the business falls under Federal Law.

Nebraska youth under 16 years of age may not be employed in any work which by reason of the nature of the work is dangerous to life or limb, or in which their health may be injured or their morals depraved.

The presence of a child apparently at work is prima facie evidence of employment.

Federal law established both hour restrictions and occupational standards for youth under 18 years of age.

Employers are generally subject to both state child labor laws and the federal child labor provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), 29 U.S.C. 212(c), and the FLSA regulations at 29 CFR Part 570.  Certain provisions of Nebraska state law may be less restrictive than federal law, and employers covered by the FLSA that only follow a less restrictive provision of Nebraska state law will be in violation of federal law.  See 29 U.S.C. 218(a).  For more information on federal child labor law, please visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s Wage and Hour Division Website at www.dol.gov/whd.

Employment Certification Instructions

NOTE: This Employment Certificate is for the sole use of City School Superintendents in designated public/private school districts and their designees. It is not for use by the general public for other than informational purposes.

Print one certificate, complete, sign and then make two copies.

The Employment Certificate is issued in triplicate: one copy to the business, one copy to the Nebraska Department of Labor, and one copy for the files of the issuing officer. The employer must keep the Employment Certificate on file and return the certificate to the school issuing the same when the child leaves employment.

The employer must keep posted a printed notice (Form 110) stating the hours of work of the child in the room where the child works.

Employment Certificate for Minors, ages 14 - 15

Work Hours Notice (Form 110)