EMPLOYMENT OF MINORS



14 & 15 YEAR-OLDS

Nebraska child labor laws differ from USDOL child labor laws. If both laws apply to a business/employer, the law
with the more stringent standard must be observed. For information regarding USDOL child labor laws, contact
1-866-487-9243 or visit dol.gov.

Permitted Work Hours:

NEBRASKA

- Between the hours of 6 am and 10 pm
- No more than 8 hours per day
- No more than 48 hours per week

FEDERAL

- Between the hours of 7 am and 7 pm (except June 1— Labor Day: 7 am—9 pm)
- No more than 3 hours on a school day
- No more than 8 hours on a non-school day
- No more than 18 hours in a school week
- No more than 40 hours in a non-school week

Employment Certificate

- Required for all employees 14 and 15 years of age except detasseling and parent owned business
- Obtained from the school district in which minor attends/resides and signed off by the school's issuing officer
- Remit a copy to Nebraska Dept. of Labor and a copy to the minor's employer

#110 Form must be posted in minor's work area by the employer

Employment Certificate and #110 Form are available online at dol.nebraska.gov/LaborStandards

DETASSELING

Permitted Work Hours:

- Outside of school hours during the month of June, July, and/or August
- Between the hours of 6 a.m. and 8 p.m. for children ages 12 and 13
- Between the hours of 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. for children ages 14 and 15
- Child may not work more than 48 hours in any one week
- Child may not work more than nine hours in any one day

Requirements for Detasseling:

- Worker must be at least 12 years old
- Child workers must reside within 75 miles of the location where the labor is to be performed
- The employer must obtain written consent from the child's parent to employ the minor
- The employer must provide at least two supervisors who are 18 years of age or older at each location

PERFORMING ARTS PERMIT

- The Nebraska Department of Labor is authorized to issue a special permit waiving restrictions within the child labor law for children employed in the performing arts.
- Requirements for Performing Arts Permit:
 - The employer must obtain written consent from the child's parent to employ the minor
 - The employment must be found to be in the best interest of the child
 - The special permit form must be completed and submitted to the Nebraska Department of Labor
- Special Permit Form and Fees:
 - A Special Permit is issued for periods up to 90 days and may be renewed by the employer
 - \$10.00 fee for each permit

Special Permit form is available online at dol.nebraska.gov/LaborStandards

VIOLATION OF THE CHILD LABOR LAW

- Those found in violation of Nebraska's Child Labor Law are guilty of a Class I misdemeanor.
- Report violations to the Department of Labor and to the County Attorney.

HAZARDOUS EMPLOYMENT

Restrictions:

- No child may be employed in any work, which due to the nature of the work or place of performance, is dangerous to life or limb, or in which their health may be injured or their morals depraved.
- For additional information regarding hazardous employment or specific jobs/tasks, contact the U.S. Department of Labor at 1-866-487-9243 or visit dol.gov/agencies/whd/fact-sheets/43-child-labor-non-agriculture