# NEBRASKA PAID SICK TIME NOTICE OF EMPLOYEE RIGHTS

#### NEBRASKA HEALTHY FAMILIES & WORKPLACES ACT | EFFECTIVE DATE: OCTOBER 1, 2025

# **ENTITLEMENT & AMOUNT**

Beginning October 1, 2025, employees are entitled to paid sick time.

Employees begin accruing paid sick time after 80 hours of consecutive employment, at which point employees then accrue a minimum of one hour for every 30 hours worked, subject to the following limitations:

- Employees whose employers have 11-19 employees earn 40 hours of paid sick time in a year.
- Employees whose employers have 20 or more employees earn 56 hours of paid sick time in a year.

Employers are permitted to select higher limits of accrual and use.

# **REASONS FOR USE OF SICK TIME**

Employees may use accrued paid sick time for the following reasons:

- The employee's illness, injury, or health condition; or for treatment, diagnosis, or preventative medical care.
- Care of the employee's family members for illness, injury, or health condition; or for treatment, diagnosis, or preventative medical care.
- Meetings related to the employee's child's illness, injury, health condition, at school or care provider.
- Closure of the employee's business or to care for a child due closure of school or place of care by order of public official due to public health emergency.
- The employee's need to self-isolate or care for a family member that needs to isolate due to a communicable disease as determined by a health authority or a health care professional.

### **USE OF SICK TIME**

 Paid sick time shall be provided upon the request of the employee with the expected duration of absence when possible.

- An employer that requires notice of the need to use paid sick time, must provide a written policy that contains reasonable procedures for employees to provide notice.
  - An employer with no written policy shall not deny paid sick time based on noncompliance with such policy.
- An employer shall not require an employee to search for or find a replacement worker to cover the employee's paid sick time.
- Paid sick time may be used in either hourly increments or smaller increments if the employer's payroll system accounts for absences in those smaller increments.
- An employer may require reasonable documentation for use of paid sick time beyond three consecutive workdays.

## **RIGHTS**

The Act provides employees with the following rights:

- Right to use paid sick time protected under the Act.
- Right to file a suit or complaint if paid sick time as required by the Act is denied by the employer or the employee is subjected to retaliatory personnel action for requesting or taking paid sick time.
- Right to participate in an investigation, hearing, or proceeding.
- Right to inform any person of the person's potential rights under the Act.

### **RETALIATION PROHIBITED**

Retaliatory personnel action against employees who request or use paid sick time is prohibited.

An employer's absence control policy shall not count paid sick time taken under the Act as an absence that may lead to or result in a retaliatory personnel action or other adverse action.

Questions about rights and responsibilities under the Act may be directed to the Nebraska Department of Labor - Labor Standards Division.

### **Nebraska Dept. of Labor - Labor Standards Division** | dol.nebraska.gov **Email:** NDOL.Laborstdrdsinquiries@nebraska.gov | **Phone:** 402-471-2239



Published: 07/2025

Equal Opportunity Program/Employer | TDD: 800-833-7352 Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.