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DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

COVID-19 RELATED NDOL - EMPLOYER BASED
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

How do | get a username and password? OR |
don’t know my username/password.

Create an Employer account at NEworks.nebraska.gov.
For username and password resets please e-mail
ndol.NIChelp@nebraska.gov, or use the Retrieve User
Name or password option.

How do | update company information?

Log into your NEworks account to update contact or
address information.

For username and password resets please e-mail
ndol.NIChelp@nebraska.gov.

How do | request more information on Short
Time Compensation process?

Please visit dol.nebraska.gov/STC for contact information
and more.

What can | do to support my employees in
filing for unemployment during this time?

Please direct claimants to file online at NEworks.nebraska.
gov. Timely responses from employers to Nebraska
Department of Labor employees are extremely helpful

to expedite claim processing. You may also consider

Short Time Compensation instead of a full layoff. More
information about STC is available at dol.nebraska.gov/STC.

What type of employer relief can
be expected?

Unemployment benefits are typically paid with
contributions from employers. NDOL will temporarily
waive charges incurred by these employers whose team
members are filing claims related to COVID-19.

NDOL also has a Short-Time compensation program. STC
helps prevent layoffs by allowing employers to uniformly
reduce affected employees’ hours by 10 to 60 percent
while permitting the employees to receive a prorated
unemployment benefit. Go to dol.nebraska.gov/STC for
more information about Short Time Compensation.

Will | be charged on claims filed after
03/22/20 that are a direct result of COVID-19
exposure or illness?

Employers will not be charged during the timeframe of the
executive order, March 22, 2020 to May 2, 2020.

| am sending workers home for an unknown

period of time and without pay. What return

date do they put on their Ul application? And
what reason for separation do they use?

Employees will be considered attached to the employer, no
return to work date is needed. Clear, concise reasons for

separation like “COVID-19 office closure,” “Lack of work due
to COVID-19” are the most helpful.

If | have already let people go, can | recall
them back and then apply for the Short Time
Compensation?

Yes.

Even though | am the business owner | pay
myself an actual wage and pay into the
unemployment insurance system. Can | file
for unemployment?

Eligibility is determined on a case-by-case basis. If as the
business owner, you pay unemployment insurance taxes on
your wages, you may be eligible for Ul. We recommend you
file online at NEworks.nebraska.gov.
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Can the owners of a business file a claim

for unemployment benefits if they are sole
proprietors or partners that are not covered
under the existing Nebraska Unemployment
Security law and thus would not have any
wages in the Ul tax system? Non-profit

and religious organizations have similar
circumstances.

Eligibility is determined on a case-by-case basis. If the
employer does NOT pay unemployment insurance tax on
wages, the wages will not be considered for monetary
eligibility. We recommend you file online at NEworks.
nebraska.gov.

Does a claimant still have to meet the
minimum wage earnings ($4246 total in
the year/$1850 in a quarter & at least $800
in another quarter) to qualify under this
emergency Ul system?

Yes.

Will there be a ‘help line” to assist claimants
outside of normal business hours since we
are dealing with many individuals who have
never had to file a claim?

No. Please check the NDOL COVID-19 Resources page for
the latest updates.

How does this impact individuals who are
currently drawing benefits through the
existing system, specifically work search
requirements?

The requirement to search for work is waived for all
claimants from March 22 to May 2.

What about people that filed before March 22
for COVID-19 related reasons? Do they miss
out on the waivers?

No.
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