
Employment Certificate (for Minors 14 and 15 Years of Age)

550 S. 16th Street, Lincoln, NE 68508        Email: ndol.laborstdrdsinquiries@nebraska.gov

Note: State and Federal Child Labor Laws are different. It is 
the responsibility of the employer to be aware of which law 
applies and to be governed by the more restrictive. Information 
regarding Federal Child Labor Laws may be obtained from the U.S. 
Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, Omaha, Nebraska. 
402-221-4682

Federal Hour Restrictions:

•	 No more than 3 hours on a school day
•	 No more than 18 hours in a school week
•	 No more than 8 hours on a non-school day
•	 No more than 40 hours in non-school week
•	 Not before 7 a.m. nor after 7 p.m.  

(9 p.m. from June 1 - Labor Day)

Nebraska Hour Restrictions:

•	 No more than 8 hours in one day
•	 No more than 48 hours in one week
•	 Not before 6 a.m. nor after 10 p.m. 

Equal Opportunity Program/Employer	 TDD: 1.800.833.7352
Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

Rev. 3/24/2023 One Copy to Employer	 One Copy to Nebraska Department of Labor	 One Copy to School

(Valid for 1 year)Date:

Phone: 402-471-2239  Fax: 402-471-5039

This form must be completed in full and certified by the school’s issuing officer.

This certificate authorizes the employment of 
(First/Last Name of Minor)

(Address of Minor, city, state, zip)

Sex: Male Age: Date of Birth: Place of Birth:
Female (City, State)

Hair Color: Eye Color: Height: Weight: Distinguishing Facial Marks:

Name of Parent(s): Telephone Number:

(County)

Minor’s Information

Employment Information

Issuing Officer Certification - FOR SCHOOL USE ONLY

Days per week: Hours per week: Hours per day: Hourly Wage:

Day’s work to start at: a.m. p.m. Day’s work to end at: a.m. p.m.

(Work to be Done by Minor)(Nature of Business)

(Address of Business; city, state, zip) (County)

(Name of Business) (Telephone Number of Business)

I, the school issuing officer, certify that: I have examined 
and approved the appropriate documents, the minor’s 
identification has been verified, the certificate is completed in 
full, and the minor has signed this certificate in my presence.

School Issuing Officer’s Signature

School Issuing Officer’s Title Telephone Number

Name of School County

Address of School

City State

Signature of Minor:

Evidence of Age Accepted: Grade Completed:
(Birth certificate, school records, etc.)
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